BLET Advisory Board installed

CLEVELAND, January 2 — On January 1, 2019, a new Advisory Board began its four-year term of office for the Brotherhood of Locomotive Engineers and Trainmen (BLET). National President Dennis R. Pierce convened the Advisory Board on January 1 while retired National Vice President Gil Gore administered the International Brotherhood of Teamsters Oath of Office to all newly elected Officers. The BLET National Division term of office began on January 1, 2019, and runs through December 31, 2022.

“The Oath is an integral part of any new officer assuming his or her new responsibilities,” said President Pierce. “The Oath serves as a reminder to all who hold office in our great union that we are but caretakers when it states that it is ‘the members who put me here and it is the members whom I will serve.’”

Newly installed officers include National Vice President Mark L. Wallace, National Vice President J. Alan Holdcraft and National Division Trustee R.E. Dick Crow.

“These fine Brothers are all part of a strong and united Advisory Board,” Pierce said, “and I am confident that they, along with the full Advisory Board, will represent our membership to the best of their ability.”

The Advisory Board is composed of the 14 highest-ranking elected officers in the Organization, and is the chief policy making body of the BLET between conventions. The Board has the authority to make decisions and perform acts and duties on behalf of the National Division that are not in conflict with or otherwise provided for in the IBT Constitution, the Rail Conference Bylaws, or the BLET Bylaws. 

In addition to President Pierce, the BLET Advisory Board members include: First Vice President and Alternate President E. Lee Pruitt; National Secretary-Treasurer Stephen J. Bruno; Vice President & National Legislative Representative John P. Tolman; Vice President Marcus J. Ruef; Vice President Michael D. Twombly; Vice President Michael D. Priester; Vice President Richard C. Gibbons; Vice President James P. Louis; Vice President Wallace; Vice President Holdcraft; National Division Trustee David P. Estes; National Division Trustee William P. Lyons; and Trustee Crow.

Wednesday, January 2, 2019