Trump to nominate Bragg, Jayne to Railroad Retirement Board

(Source: Progressive Railroading 12/07/2018)

President Donald Trump announced he intends to nominate Johnathan Bragg and Thomas Jayne to the Railroad Retirement Board.

Trump will nominate Bragg to serve as the board’s employee representative for the remainder of a five-year term expiring Aug. 28, 2019, and an additional five-year term expiring Aug. 28. 2024, according to a White House press release.

Bragg has been the national vice president for the Brotherhood of Railroad Signalmen(BRS) since 2011. He has held a variety of national offices with the BRS, including director of research, who works with the Federal Railroad Administration to craft safety regulations.

Prior to becoming a national officer, Bragg served as chairman of Teamsters Local 89 from 2005 to 2008. A native of Hinton, West Virginia, Bragg began his railroad career 18 years ago with CSX as a conductor and later a signalman.

Trump will nominate Jayne to the board as a carrier representative for the remainder of a five-year term expiring Aug. 28, 2023.

Jayne has been senior general attorney for BNSF Railway Co. since 2011. Prior to joining BNSF, he was a partner at Thompson Coburn LLP, where he represented multiple Class Is on legal and regulatory matters. 

He also has worked with the board on issues such as interpretation of the Railroad Retirement Tax Act and the Railroad Retirement Act, White House officials said.