Skip to content
John Whitaker (left) and David Wier Photo – SMART TD

(Source: Progressive Railroading 04/08/2019)

The SMART Transportation Division has announced that John Whitaker has been named vice president to succeed David Wier, who retired April 1.

Most recently, Whitaker served as an alternative vice president for SMART TD, according to a press released issued by the union. He began his railroad career in 1997 when he joined CSX as a conductor. In 2002, he became certified as an engineer and was elected local chairperson for Local 1106 in Rocky Mount, North Carolina.

In January 2006, Whitaker was elected vice general chairperson for the CSX General Committee of Adjustment GO-851, and was elected general chairperson in 2011. In October 2013, Whitaker was appointed as an alternate to the executive board and elected at the 2014 convention to another term. In December 2014, he was elevated to alternate vice president. 

Whitaker also serves on the board of the SMART TD Association of General Chairpersons.

Wier, who also served on the SMART TD board and on the SMART General Executive Council, is most well-known for his dedication in successfully negotiating more than 50 labor agreements, union officials said.

Scroll To Top